Why travelling by train makes me more relaxed and comfortable

Agnes Laurens
2 min readFeb 14, 2019

As a kid, I travelled by train a lot.

Every month we went to my grandparents by train — which was in the east of The Netherlands. And at the end of my grandfather’s life, we went to my grandparents nearly every weekend. Staying there for one night and going back home (in Houten — near Utrecht ) the next day. By train again. In those weekends my parents and I took care of my grandparents. Every week wee cleaned their house, doing groceries etc…

I have so many memories with my grandparents.

I went to my orchestra rehearsal every Monday and Friday: by train. I went to my violin lessons every week: by train. I don’t do anything else than travelling by train (or bus). Sometimes by a car when the destination is in the middle of nowhere.

As you can read: I love travelling by train. The reason why is that you can read a book, do some work, look outside the train and see what happens in nature and at stations, you pass by.

When I’m on the train, I mostly watch outside what is going on there. Although the train goes fast, seeing the cows grazing in the grass, people walking with their dogs in the woods and so on… Just gives me pleasure in some life entertaining as fast as it goes. And I also get a little bit dizzy when I do some work on the train.

At the other side, it feels so peaceful to sit on the train watching outside. You don’t have to think about anything else then be aware to change stations or where to get off the train.

You hear conversations from other people. That’s entertaining too, but I don’t want to hear most of the conversations because you will hear gossip and I’m not in fond of gossip.

My children like to travel by train too. But they also like travelling by car as well. But when we are on the train with the whole family, you can talk about anything you like and learn your children about anything they see while travelling by train.

One of my wishes is to make a travel holiday by train through Europe or the World. See other cultures and habits from other people to learn more and see if you can use it in your daily life.

--

--

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens