What it is like to be a local journalist

Some of you know I love writing. Yeah… But not everyone knows I write for the local newspaper (in Dutch).

Agnes Laurens
2 min readSep 9, 2019

--

Photo by Ella Jardim on Unsplash

Writing gives me lots of fulfillment. I can express my feelings, I can express how I think on a certain subject. You can define writing in different categories: articles online, writing for the (local) newspaper, writing by hand, writing a letter, writing a book, writing articles for the business magazine and website and writing newsletters. All these categories require their writing style. I mean, they need a different approach in how to write the sentences or what the readers want and need.

Since 2015 or so, I write for the local newspaper. A job that takes lots of energy and time. In the beginning, I thought: “I’ll do it just like that!”. Hmmm, that was an easy thought… But I also took it as a challenge.

How did I become a local journalist?

Well, I heard there was a vacancy. I found the email address related to the job vacancy and I had to write a test article that you can read in the local newspaper. I was so happy to see my name under the article I wrote. They accepted me as a correspondent and since then I am a local journalist!!

Changes

--

--

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens