What classical music means to me

Agnes Laurens
2 min readApr 19, 2018

Classical music is one of my favourite music genres to listen to!! I have played — and still, play the violin since I am seven years old. Since my sister played me a CD (yes, back then, there were still CD’s!) of the Tsjaikovski violin concerto. This was played by the Russian violinist Maxim Vengerov! And I immediately loved it very much that I wanted to all his recordings. This was during Christmas when I was about nine years old. Since then I am a huge fan of his.

Joy and fun
But there is another reason why I like classical music: I play the violin myself as I said. At the age of eight, I started playing in my very first orchestra. We played music from different kind of genres, like The Pirates of the Carribean, Le Nozze di Figaro by Mozart, and so on. But that was the foundation of the love and affection for classical music. I also have played in different orchestras, one of them is the Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands and we went on tour as well.

Now I play in Orchestra of Utrecht. We play so much classical music. It’s the joy I have and the fun with other musicians to make music and to play the music how the composer had the melodies in mind.

Benefits of playing and listening to classical music
There are some additional reasons to play and to listen to classical music. And these are some personal experience:
1. Peace with your body.
2. Smile all day long.
3. It makes you happy.

--

--

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens