Therapy helped me understand a few things

Agnes Laurens
3 min readDec 19, 2018

At the moment I’m in therapy. Let’s say that first. It took me a while to go to a therapist because I was afraid of reactions from others. First of all, it was believed that therapy was only for weak people. But the first thing I thought was that I needed to get out of all the negativity! And I had to do something. I started to reach out to a therapist. And it paid off somehow. I am not there yet, but I know for sure I will eventually.

Photo by Ricky Liu on Unsplash

In life, I was just doing without any thinking as I was doing because things feel right what I was doing. Nothing wrong with that at all, but sometimes you need to think before getting into action. So you consider what to do before even taking action. I also had the feeling (yes, I’m saying that again) that I didn’t understand the meaning of life or things that (could) happen in life.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

After therapy

To be honest, now I do understand a few more things about life I was afraid of letting in. I knew all these things all the time but people told me my whole life such things don’t exist or I’m not allowed to let certain things happen, because then you’re not strong enough. But my therapist told me you’re strong to let…

--

--

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens