Actions

Actions Speak Louder Than Words

We can say whatever we can say. We promise other people or organizations that we will do things for them. Sometimes we promise a lot. But the actions towards what we say, says it all.

Agnes Laurens
2 min readNov 15, 2019

--

It’s cliché, but it's so true.

I have seen so many promises, but none of them ever came true. Of course, there are things you have to do first. But tell people what you’re planning to do and what you’re going to do. Otherwise, the words are lousy sentences. There will be no meaning from the words if you don’t do what you have said.

If I say to my daughters that I will make pancakes tonight, then they will expect that. If I don’t make those pancakes, they will be very disappointed. They can’t rely on me anymore.

And there are situations when you can’t do what you have promised to do. Like becoming ill one day before the event takes place. That is a situation you have to consider whether the illness is too bad not to show up. When you explain the situation, then I know for sure that they will understand. Don’t do this often otherwise you will become unpredictable. Then they will not ask you the next time. Well, it is how it is.

--

--

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with three daughters. https://linktr.ee/alaurens